Breaking! Salah narrowly beats Man City star Kevin de Bruyne to win writers’ Footballer of the Year

In-form Liverpool star forward, Mohamed Salah has edged past Manchester City star Kevin de Bruyne to be named the Football Writers’ Association player of the year.

De Bruyne came second with Tottenham striker Harry Kane third.

Salah, 25, has scored 31 goals in 34 league appearances for Liverpool this season and leads the race for the Premier League golden boot.

The Egypt international also won the Professional Footballers’ Association player of the year award in April.

He has scored 43 goals in all competitions after signing for £34m from Roma in the summer.

The former Chelsea and Basel winger netted twice in the first leg of Liverpool’s Champions League semi-final win against his former club at Anfield last week.

Jurgen Klopp’s side travel to the Stadio Olimpico on Wednesday for the return leg with a 5-2 lead over the Italians.

Salah and 26-year-old Belgian De Bruyne collected more than 90% of the votes from members of the Football Writers’ Association.

Salah is the first African winner of the award, in what FWA Chairman Patrick Barclay described as “the toughest call since 1968-69”, when there was a dead heat between Tony Book of Manchester City and Derby’s Dave Mackay.

“Right up to the last week or so we thought it might happen again, so strong was the support for Kevin de Bruyne,” said Barclay.

“But Mo Salah’s relentless match-winning form, exemplified by his two great goals against Roma, seems to have swung the vote by a very narrow margin.”

Other players to receive votes from FWA members were: Sergio Aguero (Man City), Christian Eriksen (Tottenham), Roberto Firmino (Liverpool), Nick Pope (Burnley), David Silva (Manchester City), Raheem Sterling (Man City) and Jan Vertonghen (Tottenham).